3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

91 RS 350... power?

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2002, 07:23 PM

Question 91 RS 350... power?

I will be purchasing a 91 RS Camaro with a 350 in a little less than a month, and it is completely stock from engine to body to exhaust. I plan to put a K&N filter on and dual exhaust to start out with.

What would the best exhaust setup be? I'm thinking of getting headers with true duals and flowmaster 40's. I have no experience with cars (only full sized trucks), and don't know if this is a good idea. Someone told me that true duals would actualy hurt the performance on this car, and a better solution would be to just take from the cat back with duals, and don't touch the rest. is this true?

What would the "best" setup be for mid RPM range horsepower/torque? Tube size? True duals? 1 muffler or 2? I'd like to get a very loud sound, but I need to have a cat and muffler on there... I asume a flowmaster 40 would be a good bet?

This will be all I'm going to do to the car for a few months (maybe even 1/2 year), but later on I'd like to get vortec heads, a better cam/rocker combo, and an Edelbrock Performer intake manifold. Should I set up my exhaust any different knowing what I'm going to do to the engine later on?

Thanks yall, I appreciate any info yall can give me!
Old 12-14-2002, 07:51 PM

i'd recommend going with a 3" catback of your choice. biggest decision that usually comes with this choice is what kind of tone you want. You can end up with a nice catback with a good deep tone like a flowmaster for as low as $250 or you can get a borla adjustable catback and spend $5-600.

Personally I run a flowmaster single 3" dump catback and SLP 1 3/4" headers and it offers a a combination that pulls hard to about 5000 rpms.

I'm sure some people will chime in with other options that are as good if not better so keep an eye out.
Old 12-14-2002, 09:10 PM