3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

Cam & Crank Timing Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2007, 12:30 PM

Cam & Crank Timing Question

I'm in the process of ordering a Cloyes Double Roller Timing Chain and I have two questions. The first one is should I get an Iron or Billet Steel Cam sprocket . The second question I have is what should I set my crank and camshaft advance/retard to ? It is a street car so I am unsure. Should I leave it at the factore "zero?" Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The engine is a Gen I sbc(like a 92 camaro 350):
hydraulic roller - lt4 hot cam 218/228 .525"
sdpc vortec heads (they don't flow like vortec's )
Holley Stealth Ram 30lb svo injectors
scorpion 1.6 full roller rockers
comp cams behive springs
Hooker Long Tube headers
Old 04-12-2007, 01:26 PM

To install it correctly, you need to "degree" in the cam.

Rich
Old 04-12-2007, 06:29 PM

I have a degree wheel and plan on using it.
Old 04-12-2007, 08:31 PM

But that didn't really answer my question...

You can use offset bushing to advance or retard crankshaft timing in relation to the camshaft. If both valves are closed and #1 is at TDC, you're at zero degrees cam timing. Now if you wanted to lets say open the intake valve 2 degrees BEFORE TOP DEAD CENTER (advance), would that benefit me with my setup?? I know drag cars have retarded or advanced cam timing weather its an n/a or has forced induction. I just want a little clarity on this subject.

Would there be any benefit in opening the intake valve a litte earlier to increase the combustion chamber's air density? How does the theory for this work? It must have something to do with camshaft profiles in relation to TDC.

Also, if anyone would like to chime in on the difference between billet steal and a cast cam gear..
Old 04-12-2007, 08:46 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by Dirtbik3r
But that didn't really answer my question...