3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

Exhaust question...and possibly more

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2006, 12:05 AM

Smile Exhaust question...and possibly more

Hello all......I am new to the Camaro scene, just purchased a 91 Camaro RS w/ 305 TBI in a 5 speed manual back in December. The colour is white with the black grey interior.

It runs ok, it has been rebuilt once and it has 221889 miles on it. It seems like alot but it seems to do pretty well. I have had to replace alot of rotted parts so far for the car was sitting in the previous owners yard collecting dirt and weeds for a year at least.

Anyways I would greatly appreciate any dircetion you can give me in modifying this beast. I would like to get a better exhaust for it, stock one is pretty bad and restrictive. What is recommended that is reasonably priced, gives good power but is also relatively quiet. I already have an air box picked out for it. As for the rest of the mods I plan it will have to wait, it has some cosmetic and interior issues I need to deal with as well.

Well thanks for listening, I will be looking forward to your reponses!!!

Thanks,

Peter
Old 06-03-2006, 02:09 AM

Re: Exhaust question...and possibly more

I had a 92 RS 305 TBI with a flowmaster cat back on it, I really enjoyed the sound of it, so maybe you will too.

I've done a header swap on a couple 305s, that should be your first step, then get a Y-pipe and catback of your choice. After that I would look into your ignition system, make sure the plugs, wires, cap, rotor, are all good, if something looks weird, replace it.

305s arnt the fastest, but they sure as hell are fun to drive. My 305 was much easier to handle on the twisties than my 350TPI, they just have a good power to weight ratio for having fun.