3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

heres an idea

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2004, 06:09 AM

heres an idea

im thinking about bulding a camaro and i want to make it fast
so im thinking about the year 1987 and taking a new cev vet and taking its motor out and putting it into the 87 that way the smog problems are gone and i got fule injection and better gas milage
Old 03-21-2004, 08:16 PM

This would be more of a 3rd Gen Tech question rather than a Classic Tech.......
Old 03-21-2004, 11:14 PM

sorry im new to the sight im 16 and i have all ways loved camaros so i thought i would try this place out
Old 03-22-2004, 07:50 AM
Classic Tech Moderator

1982 - 1992 camaros are the third body style that GM came out with, thus third generation.

I'll move this over to third gen for ya

Welcome to the board!
Old 03-22-2004, 08:03 AM

Re: heres an idea

Originally posted by racerfox
im thinking about bulding a camaro and i want to make it fast
so im thinking about the year 1987 and taking a new cev vet and taking its motor out and putting it into the 87 that way the smog problems are gone and i got fule injection and better gas milage
Im not understanding you. You want to take a 87 fbody and use a "cev vet" and using its motor?
Im gunna go out on a limb and say that you want to take an LS1 out of a new Vette and put it in a third gen. The LS1 engines are found in all 97-04 C5 Vettes, 98-02 Fbodies, and the new 04 GTO. Now, this has been done plenty of times now that there are parts for it, even if you want to use the T56 6spd trans. I suggest that you take the LS1 out of a Fbody, and not a vette due to the oil pan.