3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

Ideal Project Car Q's

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2002, 12:35 AM

Post Ideal Project Car Q's

Ok, if you could choose any third-gen F-body as a base car for a total build-up including a built 502 and T400, what would you pick? I'd like opinions based on technical merit rather than the aesthetic appeal of the particular year/make. Since the engine will be replaced, that's not a concern. Are any years better suited for big blocks? Did any of them by chance come with T400's? What about the rear end? I am not sure if a 10-bolt would hold up for long with the power I'm expecting (550-600hp/tq). If not, what advantages would there be to going over to a 12-bolt or Ford 9"?

I'm relatively new to the Chevy world (I'm a Ford guy mostly), but Chevy big block buildups are way cheaper and easier than Fords .

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 08-12-2002, 10:05 PM
Banned

Could just be a co-inquidink, but I see quite a few 83 Camaros being used for project cars. Although I have no evidence to support it being any "better" than any other year.

------------------
James D Montigny
1992 Pontiac Firebird 305 TBI
Bone Stock Officer, I Swear !

The members of this board are enthusiasts, not experts.
Please consider everything that you read an opinion.
Old 08-12-2002, 11:00 PM

well, your ideal project car should first and foremost be rust free. everything else is fixable/modifiable(spelling?). check the usual places around the rear wheel wells and check the strut towers on the underside for rust. thats a pretty common place for these cars to rust. other than that the frame that the tranny crossmember bolts to also is a bad spot.

Id stay away from the firebirds cause they dont have ANY front grille so the only air that goes through the rad. is what comes from underneath. you'll need all the help you can get on keeping temps down.