3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

rebuilt/new engine wont start

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2007, 01:08 PM

rebuilt/new engine wont start

Ok, well first off this is my first time posting here so i hope i'm in the right area. I own a 86 z28 (at least thats what the title says and it has all the trimmings of one, but it came with a factory v6, i don't think the factory z28 came with a v6?)

anyway we bought a 350 4 bolt main block from a machine shop and ever since that day we have had nothing but problems with this build up.

the spec's are as follow:
350 4 bolt main bored 30 over
Trw flat top pistons
perfect circle piston rings (chrome)
194 heads
4 barrel holley duel feed duel pump 750
hei distributor (after market)
edlebrock intake
energizer crane cam kit (mild)

Timing chain checked and re-checked twice.

#1 Top center compression stroke rotor points to #1 plug, turn engine more and exhaust valve begins to open.

Spark is strong.

Fuel pressure is 8 p.s.i with a healthy squirt from the carb.

Compression 140-150 p.s.i, wet compression 180-190 p.s.i

Starter cranks at approx 200 rpm.

checked every and all firing orders (just in case)

No vacuum leaks that we can see.

this car has been a nightmare from brand new fuel pumps being bad right out of the box to getting stuck with 3 wrong intakes (that they wouldn't let me return) 2 sets of headers that didn't fit (got a pair that fits now)

Any help or even an idea of where to look next would be more then welcomed were just stumped here, thanks in advance

(oh btw if this matters the car has open headers)
Old 08-16-2007, 01:42 PM

Is the cam degreed right? Did you line the marks up on the timing chain gears correctly? So you have strong spark at the plugs? Or at the coil? Also go to thirdgen.org that is a phenomenal site for thirdgen cars like ours. That is where I do a vast majority of my posting.
Old 08-16-2007, 02:02 PM