3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

Running Problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2003, 11:25 AM

Running Problems

Ok, I have an 87 Iroc that was a 5.0 Tpi that I pulled in favor of a stock rebult Jasper 5.7. It all went together well and the car runs and drives but the spark plugs in the drivers side head always foul out. the plugs in the passanger side head are fine. I have replaced all the intake gaskets several times, swapped the injectors out for new ones, adjusted the fuel pressure regulator many times, and tried many other thing I can't remember at the moment and it still does it.

Does anyone have any Ideas as to what could be causeing this? I have been fighting with it for 3 years now.

Thanks, Ron
Old 12-10-2003, 12:49 PM

Are they fouling from fuel or oil? If it's oil and you've been battling it since the engine exhange then the valve guides or seals were not done right. If it's fuel, you'll have to determine if you're getting enough spark for some reason to that bank. The TPI system feeds fuel to all cylinders at one time so it doesn't seem to be ecm related. Have you taken any type of readings using a TECH1 or hook a scope to it and watch you're firing lines on each cylinder.
Old 12-10-2003, 12:59 PM

I can't tell if it's oil or fuel. The car runs extremely rich so I assume its fuel. I have a Mac Tools scanner I have used on it but it don't individualize each cylinder.

I replaced all the ignition componets, cap ,rotor, wires, ignition module (all Accel), coil and box are Crane Fireball HI-6. Ran it both with and with out the Crane box.

Plugs get changed every 75 or so miles from fouling.
Old 12-10-2003, 03:37 PM

Could you have damaged the harness on that side? Have you checked the injectors with a "Noid" light, so you can see how long they're opening etc..
Old 12-10-2003, 08:45 PM

My scanner has an injector pulse width reading.

Forget what the #'s are right now though.
Old 12-10-2003, 11:26 PM