3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

TBI Help... Sensor?? Harware?? Junk??

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2005, 12:42 AM

TBI Help... Sensor?? Harware?? Junk??

Hey guys, Having trouble with a 92 rs i just bought. Has a 5.0l TBI / 5spd trans. When i got it, the car would idle itself up and down really fast, so i pulled the iac and cleaned it. This didnt help. Then i put a new map sensor on it, which helped a little, but not much. Heres something odd, If i unplug the map sensor, car idles fine. It wont take the gas when i try to drive it, but in nuetral it runs awesome. The guy claims the car ran perfect until it sat untouched for 6 months (maybey a lie?). He says they put a stage 2 chip in the computer also (possibly screwed it up?) . This is my first time around on a "computer controlled" v8 and im lost. Any help would be highly apreciated.
Old 01-12-2005, 02:04 AM

Re: TBI Help... Sensor?? Harware?? Junk??

Try getting the stock chip back and start by elimination. Get back with the results.
Old 01-12-2005, 02:49 AM

oxygen sensor.
Old 01-12-2005, 09:50 PM

Put a stock computer back in the car with the same results. Wont take the gas but no check engine light. Tried to read the codes anyway, got code 12. What usualy goes bad from sitting on Tbi engines? Guess ill just go piece by piece putting new sensors on it until i fix it. Sooner or later im bound to improve something lol. I caught up with the previous owners of the car, they said it ran perfect when it was parked. Then when it was cranked up again to sell, it wouldnt take the gas and revs up/down at an idle.
Old 01-12-2005, 10:21 PM

Take off your air cleaner, start engine look at the injectors and watch the gas as it goes into the TB, Rev it and see if your getting enuff gas. Not enough gas try the fuel filter, prolly clogged from sitting, which is a possiblity.
If that doesnt work try the relay and pump.
Old 01-12-2005, 10:29 PM