3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

TPI tunnin' ?????????????????????

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2002, 10:52 AM

Question TPI tunnin' ?????????????????????

I am rolling along here on my TPI build up, but I know I am going to have to tune the car eventually Any one else out there dealt with tunning a TPI before? I would think that it is basicly the same from car to car, but that really doesn't matter cause I have never done this before. Anyone know of any books out there that would greatly increase my knowledge about my computer system and information on the task of tunning? ALSO- from what I have got a reprogrammed chip just puts you in the ballpark, such as you dont just throw a chip in and your ready to go......true? The only person I have talked to on this matter had a 502 w/ a Holley stand alone fuel management system, so he didn't have much info on chips or diagnostics programs. ANY INFO IS APPRECIATED.
Old 09-16-2002, 11:43 AM

Well, you have a Speed Density setup so tuning will be easy for you if you decide to do it yourself. All you need is a laptop and a cable to do the diagnostics. Burning chips is the easy part, learning what you need to change based on the diagnostic readings is the hard part.

Go to www.thirdgen.org and find the DIY PROM board. Read the intro articles.
Old 09-16-2002, 08:33 PM
Banned

Thumbs up