Advanced Tech Advanced tech discussion. Major rebuilds, engine theory, etc.
HIGH-END DISCUSSION ONLY - NOT FOR GENERAL TECH INFO

Optima Spiral Gel vs. Liquid Acid Battery...

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2004, 04:41 AM

Optima Spiral Gel vs. Liquid Acid Battery...

I've been using them for a couple of years and they don't seem to like conventional recharging. I just "burnt one up" recently by placing an auto charger on it. It totally killed it...actually "0" voltage when it was replaced. Anyone know the "in's" and "out'S" on spiral cell technology?
Old 02-15-2004, 06:25 AM

"How Optima suggest you charge their batteries
(Optima has changed the upper voltage from 14.8 to 15.0 volts on their web site in fall 1997).

Alternator charge: Voltage regulated, 13.8 to 15.0 volts / no current limit

Shop Charge: 13.8 to 15.0 volts / 10 amps / 8 hours maximum

Constant voltage: 14.7 to 15.0 volts temperature < 50C, no current limits, continue until current falls below 1 amp, then finish with 2 amp constant current for 2 hours."

Constant current: 25 amps, no voltage limit / replace 110% to 120% of charge removed on previous cycle / temperature < 50 C.

Float charge: Voltage 13.2 to 13.8 volts / current 1 amp, time indefinite"

http://www.geocities.com/CapeCanaver...wOptimasuggest

"6. Can you trickle charge an OPTIMA? Solar card charger?
Yes, you can use any charger on an OPTIMA as long as the voltage is regulated properly. If your charger will remain on indefinitely the voltage should be at 13.8 volts maximum with a one amp maximum current. "

http://www.optimabatteries.com/faq.asp#q6

Maybe you need to take a look at the output of you charger.

Last edited by ROCKN SS; 02-15-2004 at 06:36 AM.
Old 02-15-2004, 07:41 AM

Originally posted by ROCKN SS
"How Optima suggest you charge their batteries
(Optima has changed the upper voltage from 14.8 to 15.0 volts on their web site in fall 1997)...Maybe you need to take a look at the output of you charger.