Appearance Hoods, spoilers, custom mods, accessories, etc.

Converting T-Top to Hardtop

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2005, 07:59 PM

Converting T-Top to Hardtop

Has anyone ever done the opposite of the usual t-top conversion and converted a t-top car into a hard top car? I don't see why it shouldn't be possible. The T/A I owned before this one had a hard top and I liked it alot more for some reason. I mean the t-tops are nice but I personally just liked the lines of the hard top alot more.

So what do you guys think can it be done?
Old 04-15-2005, 08:42 PM

Re: Converting T-Top to Hardtop

I'm no expert, but I highly doubt it considering what it would take. You'd have to weld up the pieces taken off on the left and right side, as well as somehow put the missing roof piece on..which would involve ALOT of work to make it look halfway decent. Instead of going thru all that trouble, want to trade? Mines a hardtop .
Old 04-15-2005, 08:55 PM

Wow........there's a switch.....

I would guess it would be much too costly to do a reverse t-top fitting.

Simply trading for a similar but hardtop Fbody seems the way to go.
Old 04-15-2005, 08:57 PM

Yes, It can be done. You need to buy the side braces and weld them back in. GM does sell these and they are about 20.00 bucks for each side. The big money part is the roof. You would have to replace it. They are 500 and change. Not to mention pulling the glass and getting a new weatherstip for it and a new headliner. It would cost ya some cash to change it to a hard top unless you could find a donor car. Then it would be cheaper. I have a spare roof but it is from a t-top car. Sorry, I scrapped the hard top one I had.
Old 04-15-2005, 09:06 PM