LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

Can I get enough traction with 9.5" rims?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2002, 07:49 PM

Can I get enough traction with 9.5" rims?

Well, it's about time for me to pick out which rims I want to get. I've originally wanted to get 9.5" rims up front, but go 10.5" or 11" in the back(315 tires ). I can't find that many rims in my price range that are wide enough in back. So... if I do want to get 9.5" wide in back, with Nitto 555R rubber would I have enough 'tire' for traction? My car's close to stock right now, but I'll be doing some HEAVY modding soon, thinking of an ATI Procharger . What do you guys think?

Nate
Old 10-03-2002, 08:08 PM

I'm no expert by any means, but I've seen some pretty heavy duty cars running 17" 9.5's with 315's squeezed on them ... they didn't seem to have any traction troubles.
Old 10-04-2002, 12:22 AM
Eternal Member

Thumbs up

I am using stock IROC wheels and cutting 1.85 60 ft with BFG DR's. I have 304 RWHP. That is at the track that is prepped good. On my stock tires I will burn pass the 60 foot mark. So yes that is more than big enough.

I would go with the TT Icon. There are 4 LS1 guys in our club Motown Muscle that have them and all there cars are monsters.

Last edited by Chris Ja; 10-04-2002 at 12:25 AM.
Old 10-04-2002, 06:35 PM

Originally posted by rncotton
I'm no expert by any means, but I've seen some pretty heavy duty cars running 17" 9.5's with 315's squeezed on them ... they didn't seem to have any traction troubles.
It's actually possible to fit 315's on a 9.5" rim? I've never heard about this before. Anyone else know anything about it?

Nate
Old 10-07-2002, 04:57 PM

Anyone know? 9.5" tires....315 rubber....anyone?

Nate
Old 10-07-2002, 06:47 PM