LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Bad starter?

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2005, 02:15 PM

Bad starter?

Alright i'm a newb to LT1s and V8s in general so i figured id ask you first before i go one rampage and tear stuff out.
Well the reason i think its the starter is because the car barealy srart. When you insert the key and crank it it slowly rises to like 1100 or 1200 RPM and then goes back down to just a little below 1000. Sometimes it takes a couple of tries to strat it, which is no biggie for me, but still kinda annoying. And i can always just give it a little gas at it will all be good. Its not thorwing any codes either, just incase you were wondering.

If you think its the starter motor, how hard is it to replace it for someone who has never done it on LT1s? and how much for a new one?

I started having all sort of weird problems as i got to florida. First my car was missfiring (thats the second car it happened to when i drove it thru florida) So i was gonna change plugs and wires like i did on my other car and hope it would run fine. Then i put 93 in it and it now runs fine, but now i got this new problem. Cant wait til i go back to Jersey, everything worked fine there.

Well thanks for your help guys.
Old 07-05-2005, 02:50 PM

Re: Bad starter?

Doesn't sound like the starter. Usually when the starter goes out it either starts to drag and makes a horrible noise when trying to start the car or it just wont even turn over. Mine made a click noise when it went out. You might wanna check the fuel pressure and see where its at. Long starts are gernerally fuel-related problems. My car has a long start and almost always requires 2 attempts for it to start. Your fuel pump could be on its way out. I've narrowed my problem down to that. Goodluck!
Old 07-05-2005, 03:26 PM