LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Best parts to build a 550 +hp Lt1 under 4k

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2011, 01:21 PM

I have one already in my camaro. Broke down on me before I deployed this year. So Im sure I can still keep my csi water pump, msd opti, Holley throttle body, Intake, Exhaust. So all that should save money. When it broke down, it just lost all power, sputtered, and turned off. I tried cranking it up and I just heard metal grinding noise from the engin. Now I'm not a mechanic so I'm not sure what it is and I didn't have the time to take it apart. So worst case scenario I need a new block, what parts should I use in that block. I dont want to spend ridiculous amounts on unnecassary parts that will give me no significant gains or life on the engine. Like I said before, I am not an experience mechanic, and when I purchased the car, I didn't have a clue what I was buying. I just thought it looked great and sounded great. Paid 10 k for it. I don't know what exactly is in the engine because I didn't care to ask when I purchased it. Was too happy. I just know it has comp cam, lifters, Msd opti, holley throttle body, not a stock fuel rail or intake or valve covers, its a stroker, bbk something, tsi trans, some b&m stuff, nice weld racing wheels. Mt street radials in the back, hurst shifter, 4k stall, long tube headers, i think bout three inch exhaust, was very fast. Im in the Houston area also looking for suggestions on who to send my car to get fixed.
Old 04-16-2011, 01:40 PM
Administrator

Re: Best parts to build a 550 +hp Lt1 under 4k

I would determine what went wrong with the current engine, and determine if it can be rebuilt. You need to determine what internal parts are there (is it a stroker?), and what can be reused and what needs to be bought new.

Couple questions:

550HP at the flywheel or at the rear wheels?

Normally aspirated or power adder (nitrous, S/C, turbo)?

What year is your car?