LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Cold air intake question

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2006, 12:26 AM

Cold air intake question

Alright, being a high-school student, i am about the most bang-for-the-buck. Next thing I need is a CAI. Instead of spending the 150+ for a aftermarket kit, would it be okay to just build my own? I know it wont look the same, but it should perform the same.

I was thinking just using 3" pvc painted flat black, and black-rubber connectors and a 3" k&n filter. Does this sound alright?
Old 10-13-2006, 01:44 AM

Re: Cold air intake question

it can work but will look like *** imo. If your looking to go cheap just buy a 20 buck one off of ebay and replace the crappy filter with a k&n. with the right rubber adapter from home depot or lowes you can fit a conical one on your stock intake tubing. and just remove the stock air box and place the filter there.
Old 10-13-2006, 02:16 AM

if you paint it using some sort of textured black paint i don't think it'd look that bad.
Old 10-13-2006, 03:50 AM

It's really not worth the effort to try and make your own. Some of those intakes are actually very precisely engineered to get a specific air flow. So is the stock air box and ducting. If you just slap some tubing together, you're apt to have a worse air intake than you have now. Moreover, I think it's hilarious when people put in a 'cold air intake' that's ducted right down to the bumper, drive through a puddle and then wonder why their motor mysteriously quit on them. There are probably many much more effective mods you could do before you actually need to consider a new air intake . If you do want to install one, I would suggest buying a well-designed kit that also includes some shielding for the filter so it won't pick up water. Just my opinion, but $200+ for MAYBE a few extra horsepower (that likely won't even be apparent during street use) is very expensive and a do-it-yourself intake is not even worth the bother.