LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Couldn't Be Newbier

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2003, 09:17 AM

Couldn't Be Newbier

Heya forum (first post),

I'm a complete car newbie, been driving less than a year, never driven anything but an automatic, never even changed oil.

Where is the best place for me to get started? I really like the camaro/firebird/corvette designs, and I'm looking for a car that I can learn on for under $10k. I'm interested in real performance and would like to build a car I can keep forever and constantly upgrade.

The older technologies, 60s/70s, make sense to me, I understand the ideas behind most of the parts (although I haven't had the opportunity to work on them myself). But the new cars (90s) confuse me to no end. If I got a 97 z28 or something of that nature, how hard is it going to be to work on it? What kind of special tools will I need? What's all this 'ECU' crap about?

I guess my questions come down to this: Which car is the best bang for the buck right now? How hard is it to maintain/improve? How much can I do myself and how much needs to go to the shop? Aside from parts and the car itself, how much would tools cost to do work on it?

Thanks in advance
--carnub
Old 10-06-2003, 09:33 AM