LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

dipstick vomiting oil @ WOT

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2009, 09:38 PM

dipstick vomiting oil @ WOT

After months of troubleshooting my LT1, it is finally running on all 8 cylinders. I took it for a couple WOT runs, and noticed a couple issues though.

1)It seems a little down on power. I expected more out of a hotcam car. The lack of power might be an illusion though, since I've been driving an LS1 car for the past 6 months.

2)At WOT, the oil dipstick literally spewed oil all over the place. The dipstick dislodged, and shot oil all over the shock tower and header. It made lots of white smoke.

These two discrepancies point directly to bad piston rings, but I just did a compression test recently, and it had 170-175psi in all 8 cylinders. Plus, I just had the heads off recently, and the cylinder walls looked good, with no marring and good cross-hatching in all holes.

The PCV valve is also brand new. Any ideas what the problem could be?
Old 05-08-2009, 09:41 PM

You did a compression test, but what about a leakdown test? Only cause of the oil dipstick being blown out is blowby from the rings.
Old 05-08-2009, 10:01 PM

I just did a pretty extensive search through the LT1 tech sections. Excessive blowby seems to be the main culprit of this problem.

However....

My compression is fine. Furthermore, I did not see the telltale puff of blue smoke out of the the oil fill hole, or the puffs of smoke out of the exhaust. I have not done a leakdown test.

I had to get a new PCV valve and rubber hose, and the hose is very stiff and somewhat kinked in it's 180* bend. That might be restricting the PCV flow enough to cause the dipstick issues. I'll investigate more tommorrow.
Old 05-09-2009, 07:40 AM

Is the breather on the PS valve cover restricted? Something is pressurizing the crankcase and that points to a restricted or blocked breather or PCV.