LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Engine is trashed... lifters spun in the bore..

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2006, 09:46 PM

Engine is trashed... lifters spun in the bore..

Is it just me? Or is the spider retainer design the dumbest thing on the planet??

Backstory:

http://web.camaross.com/forums/showthread.php?t=437700

At this point I'm not sure what happened.

After the car was brought home from the track we pulled the valve cover and found one rocker loose enough to come up on the stud and actually fall off the valve. But it was actually "on" the pushrod and valve when disassembled. Probably b/c of the guideplates. We tightened those polylocks, I can't imagine within 72 hours they would have backed out to cause this but I'm no expert?

I'm trying to diagnose to avoid this happening again. I've learned a better way to tighten the polylocks from others now though.

My tranny was slipping 2-3 on my runs as I watched my tach go all the way past my shift point. As some saw from my videos you didn't even hear the rev limiter kick in until it finally shifted. Could an overrev on those missed shift have caused my spider retainer to fail?

Anywho, when I pulled the intake off there were metal shavings in the valley, pulled my lifters and they were all scored, so they took the cam out completely. The retainer ring was all chewed up, the lifter spider was bent way high. Drained the oil and metal sludge all over...

I know there are several options here, and of course I want to do things right.

I'm wonder if the cylinders are OK, if I could get away with fresh bearings all the way around, new cam of course, and maybe a hone and ring job? Of course I'm not sure what my lifter bores look like.

Opinions and thoughts?
Old 03-17-2006, 09:55 PM

Re: Engine is trashed... lifters spun in the bore..