LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Exhaust component discussion..

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2003, 10:32 AM

Exhaust component discussion..

Greetings to all.

I've read a lot of articles (namely, the threads here, as well as the exhaust articles on ws6.com, and talking to my brother, a GM mechanic who seems ungodly gifted with small blocks..) and I'd like to start a discussion on a few emissions-legal exhaust components. I asked my friend Dave (scoobysnax) this question a while ago, and I enjoyed his answer. I'd like as much insight on the topic as possible, so here goes.

WS6.com states that stock exhaust manifolds and stock y-pipe are not very free flowing at all. I beg your pardon as I am new to LT1's and this site, so please bare with me. Simply put, my question is this.

I am in an emissions area and LT's are not an option for me.. But, I was wondering if a combo of shorties, a hi-flow cat, some replacement y-pipe (perhaps random tech?) which may flow a little more freely, and a good catback (i was thinking of SLP 2OTL or loudmouth) would yield pretty much the same gain as going to an emissions-illegal LT combo. (Or at least come within 5rwhp of them). I'd like to get the most muscle I can out of my car without having to do internals (ie. cam, rockers, springs, any of that). With the exception of the pipes being somewhat narrower, and obviously shorter, would my gains be similar while I might pay a tad more for the combo?

My most profound apologies if you've read this far..but thank you.
Old 08-05-2003, 10:56 AM