LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

False Knock

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2011, 10:04 PM

False Knock

I've been running this car for about 4 yrs.now and it runs flawless,but I just started logging with my LT-1 Edit and on a short pass,only into 2nd gear,it picked up over 5000 knock counts.I'm sure this is false knock because I don.t think this thing would still be together after all this time if it was pinging that bad. The timing and fuel curve are still factory,and I run good fuel,so,I don't know what gives. This thing has tons of runs on it and it runs better all the time.Any thoughts on this? Thanks, Shaun.
Old 02-17-2011, 11:24 PM

Re: False Knock

I am pretty sure the knock counts are cumulative. You should be more worried about knock retard.
Old 02-18-2011, 07:35 PM

Yeah it is retarding the timing,when I Lean on the converter it goes up to 43 total and drops to 34-35 when you punch it.I thought about unplugging the knock sensor if I can just to keep the car consistent-I don't know.I should probably leave it alone and just run it,but I want to build me a 383 so i figure I better learn to tune it.I never had an injected car before,so its all pretty new,I appreciate your input though Joe,Thanks. Shaun
Old 02-18-2011, 07:55 PM