LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Firestone quotes me $2,000+ to pass emissions

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2008, 03:04 PM

Firestone quotes me $2,000+ to pass emissions

Hey guys, I'm not very experienced with cars so I was wondering if you could help me out with this problem. I went to Firestone to get my car tested for emissions today and it failed. I had them run a diagnosis on it and they said that the problem was due to the Multi port fuel injectors.

They said that for a FJ164 Multi Port Injector, it would cost $208 EACH. So 8 of them, plus labor and taxes, would cost over 2 grand. I was wondering if that was right? I checked out ws6store, and they had injectors at sets of 8 for under $300. I was wondering if these will do the same job, and if they will allow me to pass Emissions?

I'm really undecided about what to do next. I was wondering if anyone could help me shed some light on the matter. Thanks a bunch for the help, I appreciate it.
Old 06-11-2008, 03:07 PM

Go to a real mechanic.
Old 06-11-2008, 03:10 PM

Originally Posted by km9v
Go to a real mechanic.
Haha, when I asked them to diagnosis it I figured it'd be a easy fix so I might as well just have them take care of it while I'm already there. Imagine my surprise. I don't understand what you mean, are you saying that the price is wrong or that their judgment is wrong?
Old 06-11-2008, 03:16 PM

Originally Posted by bhxgryphon
Haha, when I asked them to diagnosis it I figured it'd be a easy fix so I might as well just have them take care of it while I'm already there. Imagine my surprise. I don't understand what you mean, are you saying that the price is wrong or that their judgment is wrong?