LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Help a newb out!! (headers)

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2004, 01:41 AM

Help a newb out!! (headers)

OK, posted this in Gen F-Bod, no response after a day, did a search on headers again and looked to see that they were posted in LT1 Tech.

:::SKIP TO LAST PARAGRAPH FOR STRAIGHT SIMPLE QUESTION:::

So, here's the deal. My car's current ehausts angers me - I don't mind the whole "Flowmaster" thing, but I do mind the fact that I had it put on immediately after the car before I researched anything and realized I could've gotten and ENTIRE catback system for the same price and installed it myself. What I'm saying is I have a Flowmaster muffler with tips, SO up to the inlet of the muffler EXCLUDING the cutout at the rear axle is stock.

I wanted to order the pacesetter LTs and ORY - but the ORY is 3" - being new to exhaust ?'s like this (I've helped 2 friends install headers so I'm pretty confident with that) I was wondering what I should do -- what needs to be done to install this it stock I is 2.75, and ORY is 3" - reducer? Should I just get a new catback period since Flowmaster isn't the best? But then what about having enough money for my headers....

If before the muffler forward is stock, can a shop easily make it 3" since thats what I would need for max efficiency with header setup? Or can I leave it and throw a reducer on an ORY since it would only be in 2.75" pipes till cutout at axle -- THANKS!
Old 12-30-2004, 02:31 AM

Re: Help a newb out!! (headers)

I just ordered the pacesetter coated longtubes and off-road y-pipe and I plan on installing them today.. so I'll let you know about any hang ups or crap like that that could possibly go wrong.