LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

How hard is it to rebuild LT1?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2008, 03:57 PM

How hard is it to rebuild LT1?

I did a cam swap a while back and after driving for a few hours I lost oil pressure. It has rod knock and and losses oil pressure once it's warmed up and the power cuts in and out when it's cold. I think it spun a bearing or two. I'm trying to sell it but I doubt anyone would buy a car that doesn't run. I would to keep the car but I'm not sure if I'm able to rebuild the engine myself or even swap the engine if I were to buy a reman one. I have a garage at my house but my dad helped me a lot with the cam swap and he's not able to work on cars anymore due to some health problems. I have a lot of mechanical knowledge but I'm not very mechanically inclined so I'm not sure I could rebuild/swap the engine on my own. Should I still try to sell it or should I try to rebuild it? It's not running now, so I don't guess I could make it much worse. How about a reman engine?

See post:

https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/sho...&highlight=cam
Old 03-10-2008, 04:10 PM

Engine swap is pretty easy. If you can do a cam swap, you can do a motor swap.

I'd find a low mileage LT1 in your area and swap it in.
Old 03-10-2008, 04:24 PM

Buy "How to Rebuild Small-Block Chevy LT1/LT4 Engines", read it thoroughly and you make the decision. If you have money, getting it done professionally will come with a warranty and less headaches. Otherwise, research a lot, take your time, ask lots of questions, and you can do it.
Old 03-10-2008, 04:29 PM

Originally Posted by LSWHO
Engine swap is pretty easy. If you can do a cam swap, you can do a motor swap.

I'd find a low mileage LT1 in your area and swap it in.
You mean find someone selling just the engine? That's going to hard to find. I do have that book BTW. I think I could swao the engine, I'm just not sure if I can rebuild it myself.
Old 03-10-2008, 04:31 PM