LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

If you install Ram Air, is this unneeded?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2005, 11:10 AM

If you install Ram Air, is this unneeded?

Hey guys, another newbie here. I just recently purchased a dark green 1993 Firebird Formula with a 350 LT1 and the automatic transmission (I got it for a good price, and after owning both automatic and stick, the transmission wasn't going to be a deal breaker). Anyways, I just picked it up about a month ago and am still absolutely in love with it! The one thing I do love about these cars that I unfortunately do not have, is that bad-*** looking Ram Air hood with the airbox.

Anyways, to my question- I just bought a K&N Cold Air Induction but have since decided that I'd rather spend my money on a Ram Air Hood and the Air-Box. So, the K&N CAI is not needed for that set-up, and should be returned... right? Thanks for your time guys, and if you have any suggestions for mods, please feel free to suggest!

Happy modding!
Old 02-12-2005, 11:38 AM

Re: If you install Ram Air, is this unneeded?

Yep, once you get the hood you can use the ram air box and you won't need the K&N. The understanding is the ram air box has a gasket that seals up this the hood, so you won't want to use it until you get the ram air hood on. Also, I've heard that the CAI actually produces a few more hp that than ram air, at least under 100mph. But I think it would be a little ricey to have a ram air hood and not the ram air box.
Old 02-12-2005, 04:21 PM

I have a Ram Air hood check my sig pics click 1994 Trans Am. I don't have a Airbox but i do have a Free Ram Air with K&N CAI so i guess if you do the free ramair it really isn't ricey because after all you do have a RamAir
Old 02-12-2005, 07:46 PM

Originally Posted by TransAm2k4