LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

mods to beat an LS1

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2004, 03:32 AM

mods to beat an LS1

So I know i am a noob...but only to the board. I have been a member to LS1tech.com....thirdgen.org and iroczone.com for quite a while. I have a 89 RS which is ungodly slow, and was thinking about a swap. I was gonna do the LS1, but i decided that it was WAY to much work for what i would be getting and also money. So now i have opted for either the LT1 or a ZZ4 w/a HSR...i have been searching for about an hour and a half on the sight reading about peoples mods and dynos and results from races against LS1s. Basically if i have a fully built suspension, al. driveshaft, built 4l60 tranny, and a car weighin about 3250. what would i need to do to the LT1 to make it run w/the modded LS1s. I was thinking low 12's high 11's N/A /stock bottom end. I was gona start w/hooker lt's, trickflow elbow, ud pulleys, and then of course head/cam package. I just cant figure out if i should get the heads ported. get the LT4 heads or some other aftermarket ones. I have seen a lot of stuff bout the hotcam and the other one...cant remember right now its like C033 or something. People were saying they wished they would have bigger for their future mods...any help would be appreciated
Old 06-27-2004, 04:41 AM

If you just want high 11's, I'd say ported heads with a hot cam kit, and a 100-150 shot of nitrous would be enough to get you there and it would still have awesome driveability.
Old 06-27-2004, 04:06 PM

is there any way i can do high 11's w/out the bottle....and then i can have the bottle JUST IN CASE on top of that lol
Old 06-27-2004, 06:21 PM

Yeah, it can be done. A set of heavily ported LT1 heads and a bigger cam with full suspension will get you into the 11's NA, but you may break the rearend if you aren't careful. You're also going to need a higher stall converter, probably around 3000 RPM.
Old 06-27-2004, 09:47 PM