LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

My day of hell....need help fast...

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2004, 01:57 AM

My day of hell....need help fast...

Hey guys, so here's what was planned for today. Install Koni shocks front, Bilstien's in the rear, front rotors and pads all the way around. Simple, right? No...here's what happened:

Took hours lounger than it should have just because I have never done the suspension on a Camaro before.

Top bolts rusted on the top of the shock on L/R sides. Took 2 hours to find someone who was able to cut them off.

Once the fronts were done, found when I bounced the car, the right side has a noise. We think it's probably the top nut that isn't tight enough.

When we were bleeding the brakes with a vacuum bleeder, we found that the front left caliper is leaking where the brake line attaches.

When I put the brake line back on the caliper, it was turned a little causing it to hit the lip of the caliper. Maybe this screwed something up.

MY QUESTIONS:

As far as the brake lines go. Are there supposed to be two copper washers? One on each side of the brake line fitting? I only have one. This could also be the problem.

And with that top nut. First of all, what's an easy way to get to it in the least amount of time/effort? Do we really have to take the whole assembly off the car again? And also, how do you keep the shaft from rotating? When we tried to tighten down the nut, the whole mess turned. We used a cresent wrench to hold the shaft and used an open end wrench to turn the nut. I guess this didn't work that well. Will an impact wrench work?

The car is stuck at a friend of mine's house right now. We spent a grand total of about 12 hours with everything. We're going back there tomorrow to at least get the brakes figured out so we can drive it. I have never spent so much time with so many problems.

If anyone could help, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Steve
Old 03-28-2004, 03:01 AM