LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

My newest free/inexpensive mods! Pictures...opinions

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2007, 10:55 AM

My newest free/inexpensive mods! Pictures...opinions

Hi there everyone

So to start off...I'm a poor college student and I'd like to share with you some of the mods I've done so far and get your take on it. I think they are pretty creative and probably actually work pretty well, but I could be wrong.

So to start off. I know many of you hate the "ebay intakes". I had one on my previous Jeep and it worked very well even with the crappy filter that came with it. I decided to save the money on the expensive ones (didn't know about buying one uesd at the time) and go with the ebay one. Its essentially the same in my book, just an aluminum piece of tubing thats clear of any obstructions (3" I believe), and then bought a nice K&N filter for it. So I installed that, but then noticed that it got extremely hot because of the metal. So what I was saving with it being "smooth" I was losing in it heating up and defeating the "cold air intake" part. After visting one of my friends who has a competition built jeep, I noticed that he had his intake wrapped in heat shield. Very good idea (he had expensive one too), and stayed very cold. So I did that, and the heating issue is gone, it gets luke warm, but I'm sure the actual aluminum is nice and cold.