LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

New 383 idles PERFECT, but wants to die when coming to a stop (Datamaster Inside)

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2006, 03:02 PM

New 383 idles PERFECT, but wants to die when coming to a stop (Datamaster Inside)

Hey all, I have a few threads going but nothing specific to this new issue im having. My new 383 which i swaped in this past weekend is running GREAT, it idles perfect but I am having a small issue. She idles dead on at 900rpms, i rev her she comes right back to idle. When I take her on the road she drives fine from what I can see, but when i come to a stop sign or stop light she dips past idle (which is set for 900rpms) and goes to about 550/600ish rpms and almost dies she doesn't come back to idle. Most of the time if i leave her there chuging at that rpm the pcm will bring her backto idle, but sometimes she will die, I guess cus the rpms are sooo low. I have a datamaster log in both UNI format (which is inside the .zip file and i also converted it to csv for all you people without datamaster) I am not throwing any DTC codes and do not have an ses light lit, what did happen when I was driving around was interesting...I stoped at a light and she dipped below idle and was chugging barley running and the ses light came on, i looked at the dtc code that poped and it was MAP volt high or somehting along those lines, when it went back to idle, and the ses light went away. Here are the things i have checked and some info:

*Fuel pressure is at 43 psi at idle
*Tried a friends MAF which i know is working
*Drove it around to let the pcm try to learn
*Checked for vacuum leaks (NONE)
*As you can see im getting some false knock from the vpipe and headers, i uplaoded a tune with the knock sensor detuned for testing purposes and still the same thing. This is not a tuning issue nor a timing issue
*Disconected the tps sensor and set the idle screw on the holly 58mm tb to match the pcms idle.