LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Oil Pressure

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2006, 11:47 PM

Oil Pressure

Since I'm pretty new to the LT1 world, maybe some of you who are more familiar with them can give me some input to let me know if I should worry. I have a 1996 Z28 with around 130K on it. The motor has never been apart, so it is all stock. When I first bought the car and it had petrolium based oil in it, I would notice the oil pressure drop at idle, altho it would be high when the motor would still be cold... If I let the car idle long enough I would notice the "check guages" light come on, and the oil pressure needle would be in the red... although the motor would not be making any "bad" noises. Using a little "shade-tree" techniques.. I switched over to a synthetic, heavy weight oil (mobil 1), and added Lucas stabilizer with every oil change... It no longer drops into the red after long periods of idle, but it gets damn close...
-Some people have told me that LT1's are ment to idle at about 6lbs of oil pressure, and that is roughly what it would be above the red... but others have told me that LT1's with alot of mileage have a tendency of chewing up the main bearings..... Which is true??? or are they both right???? Should I be concerned? By the way when I drive, oil pressure is great......
Old 04-01-2006, 06:41 AM

Re: Oil Pressure

6 pounds is the low service limit at idle but your gauge (oil pressure sending unit) may not be accurate. 130k can be a lot of miles if the car did not have regular oil changes. Otherwise, the LT1 crank and rod bearings should be good for 200k with reasonable use, or so I have been told. Different oil filters will cause some changes in oil pressure readings.
Old 04-01-2006, 06:50 AM

Sometimes old pressure sending units can show lower pressures when they get hot. Try changing the unit.
Old 04-01-2006, 08:54 AM

Originally Posted by Z28_95RIDE