LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

R.A.P.-not terminating

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2003, 11:44 PM

R.A.P.-not terminating

hello. i am hoping someone can help me. i am relatively new to the camaro stuff, though not cars. im having trouble with the retained accessory power feature on my 94 camaro.

the problem is that when the car is turned off and a door opened, the radio, windows, etc stop working as they should. however, about 30 seconds later, the radio starts back up (windows also work). prior to this happening, i hear a light clicking under the drivers side dash. then i hear a louder click and frankenstein awakes. if i close a door again, it shuts off for ~30 seconds, and then comes back to life.

my RAP seems be on the fritz. does anyone know of any solutions or things to check (relays, etc)? i havent located any wiring diagrams or other resources (if all else fails, i was gonna find a key-on wire that is not in the RAP and wire it to a relay to power the radio, as it is the biggest parasite). i would like to fix/trouble shoot it more thoroughly, though (having windows, locks, etc working all the time sucks). i dont have access to another BCM.

any and all info is very much appreciated. :-) awesome site!
Old 12-27-2003, 11:50 PM
Advanced Member

what is a rap?
Old 12-28-2003, 12:04 AM
Super Moderator

Originally posted by Heatmaker
what is a rap?
Retained Accessory Power. In other words... the gizmo box which keeps your radio on even after you turn off the car and pull out the key

user name, while I have seen it done, it isn't easy to "tinker" with the individual RAP components... you'll need to solder on the circuit board I do believe.
Old 12-28-2003, 12:38 AM
Advanced Member

Oh...that's why I don't know about it....I don't have a radio
Old 12-28-2003, 09:09 AM