LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Splicing / soldering / shrinking questions (MSD)

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2011, 03:52 PM

Question Splicing / soldering / shrinking questions (MSD)

I'm a complete noob when it comes to wiring and I am replacing my bad MSD6BTM with an MSD6AL (I can tune out ignition timing so I don't need the BTM anymore).

First problem is neither of the leads will reach the battery or terminal. I think I'll just ground the black lead by putting it on a supercharger bracket bolt (perfect fit and unpainted surface). Is that an ok place to ground it? I do have a ground strap going from the engine to the chassis.

The red lead is only inches short of reaching the terminal post (non battery). It can reach the positive of the actual battery but won't fit. I noticed someone extended, spliced, soldered and shrink wrapped the positive lead on the old MSD so it could reach and they did a very good job.

My connectors were mostly wrong sex on the new MSD (connections to coil being the orange and black ...connections to trigger and 12 volt source being the red and white). Wrong as in female where they needed to be male and vica-versa (some but not all). Previous installer had the same problem with the old MSD so I borrowed the adaptor wires with butt connectors from it, they're in great shape.