LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

starting issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2004, 12:42 AM

need help starting issues

this only happens when its hot, and even then only once in a while.

the car is a 94 formula

when trying to start it doesnt want to fire, the starter is turning it but it wont fire. the opti, and plugs are brand new.

if it fires up it dies right away, it will do this four or five times untill it finally fires up normally.

if it fires up and is about to die i give it enough gas to idle it at 1500 rpm, anything lower it will want to die. and if i force it to idle it shakes violently, more so if release the clutch pedal while its in neutral.

then after say 20-30 seconds all of a sudden the rpms rise (because my foots on the gas) like it realizes the car is on (so i let off the gas) and it idles smoothly.

i have no explanation for this, could it be a bad iac? im new to maf cars so i dont know what could be causing this, some have said bad fuel presure regulator.

never had a problem with a cold start.

Last edited by 93formula; 03-23-2004 at 12:59 AM.
Old 03-23-2004, 01:02 AM

A friend of mine had somewhat similer problems, if I remember right all he did was clean the iac and it sloved the problem, I'll have to ask him today.
Old 03-23-2004, 01:04 AM

thanks i too thought it was a iac problem but wasnt sure. please let me know your friends experience.
Old 03-23-2004, 10:27 PM

anyone else haev any opinions
Old 03-24-2004, 04:57 AM

I would like to have some more information. Even if you have to experiment some with it. ie.....

What happens if it's hot and sits for about 10 minutes? Does it restart ok?

What happens if it's hot and sits for about 2 hours?