LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Trick Flow head Idea????

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2004, 03:22 PM

Trick Flow head Idea????

I know that the Trick Flow Heads (TFS head) is built for a Low Compression motor (supercharger setup) but with a Mill job and a thicker gasket can't the Compression ratio be set to about whatever you want???? The reason I ask is THESE heads flow about 255-260 on the intake side from Trickflow, with a Nice Port job I can see 290 out of them Maybe more. Our stock Lt1's seem to flow around 215 and the Ls1 and Lt4 's are around 240.

I don';t know a great deal about heads so I am no expert by no means. But I would think for less than a Few Hundred you can have a trick flow heads have a 10.8 compression ratio and a get advance induction to do there $675 stage 3 port job and be around 290CFM on the Intake.

The reason I wonder all of this is becuase I am getting heads very soon and I am thinking about picking up a pair of these TFS heads Bare for $850 from summit getting the Manley valves put in $100 and then getting a better port job and a mill job to give me the compression ratio I want. Then I can sell my old heads for about $250. So in reality for around $1700 I can have a 10.8-11.1 compression ratio with a head that flows around 290.

I may be wrong But i think I heard Phil at advance induction say that Trick Flow heads can have some unblieveable numbers throught the midrange as well.

If you think about it, if guys like Phil and Lloyd can get OUR STOCK lt1 215 CFM castings to flow 275 CFM in the intake. what could they do FROM 260CFM???????????

Let me know what you guys think, I am up for any suggestions or ideas
Old 04-01-2004, 03:25 PM
Administrator

Re: Trick Flow head Idea????

Originally posted by T/A KID