LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

TTT Car is having issues running...

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2008, 01:11 PM

TTT Car is having issues running...

I've been driving my 1996 z28 6-speed for a little over 4 months now and just the other day, I decided to do my second oil change on the car. The oil was only 2,000 miles old but was still extremely dark so I put a 1/4 of a quart of this engine flush in with 4.75 quarts of oil and right off the bat, my car wouldn't start. It would just crank and crank but not turn over.

So we waited maybe 5-10 minutes and it finally turned over but it started with hesitation... Like it didn't want to but then it finally did so we let it run fifteen minutes to let the engine flush do a little bit of it's work and then I shut the car off and drained the oil (which was still black) and let some new oil run through it until the oil was finally clear again and then put 5 quarts of the high milage in.

So then I go to start it and it started but it started to back fire extremely bad and then with the last shotgun sound, my car killed itself. So I tried to start it and it started RIGHT up with no hesitation or anything and it ran like it was brand new.

I let it run for 30 minutes at idle and it seemed perfectly fine so I shut it off and when I was on my way home (3 hours later) the car started to try and kill itself again and again.

So when I got home I tried to show my dad what was happening and when I parked the car, it killed itself and when I brought my dad out the car started right up and ran perfectly fine, even at 5,000 RPMs.

So then we shut off the car and didn't touch it at all and then the next day, I woke up for school and when I tried starting my car, it only cranked for about 15 minutes until I finally realized it wasn't going to turn over and so I looked for a ride to school.