LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Warped Intake Valve??

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2007, 05:38 PM

Question Warped Intake Valve??

Well after finally getting my cylinder head to the machine shop the verdict is warped intake valve. I have never used this machine shop before and am hoping they know what they are doing.

I had been having a sticky idle (1500rpm) that would eventually even out and the engine was missing for a brief time after start up. Eventually ended up doing a compression test and found 7/8 cylinders were around 200psi while cylinder #4 was only getting 90psi. I tried to do a leak down test but my results were a little off so I figured they were inconclusive (I don't know what I'm doing). Everything was pointing to a bad exhaust valve, so the intake valve was a little bit of a suprise. I wasn't experiencing any smoke out the exhaust on start up which was a little weird if it was an exhaust valve.

I bought these heads as a replacement for some that were mollested (manifold bolt holes were torn up) by the previous owner. I got them off of ebay and had them checked for straightness before I put them on and everything checked out ok.

So my question is what can lead to a warped intake valve??
Or do you think that it was bad from the get go?

Another weird thing was that my scantron fuel trims were reading in the 110-120 range.

Any advice or help is greatly appreciated. This is my daily driver in college and I would like to get it back together while avoiding all possible mishaps to avoid doing this again in the future.

Thanks,

-Gabriel
Old 03-02-2007, 11:27 AM

Should I try this in the Advanced Tech forum?
Old 03-02-2007, 12:49 PM

Perhaps the previous owner floated the valves and that one was the first to hit the piston thus bending it?
Scott
Old 03-02-2007, 12:51 PM
Banned

Yeah it was probably bent, meaning the cylinder didn't seal and cause this issue. That sucks.

Bret
Old 03-02-2007, 04:30 PM