LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Who's Running Pacesetter LT's and Hooker Catback?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2005, 07:07 PM

Who's Running Pacesetter LT's and Hooker Catback?

I'm about 99.99% sure I'm going to be ordering Pacesetter Cermaic Coated LT's, Pacesetter ORY, and a Hooker Catback, after my car is fixed. I'm no expert so I have a few questions, espically for those of you running this system. Besides the simple mods I've done to my car, I don't have much experience. I know the header fitment can be a bitch, but I do plan on taking it to an exhaust shop for the install, because I have no where to do it, and don't wanna mess anything up.

When running an ORY, does that mean I have to remove my cat? Because I know they make catted Y's, but have heard they don't flow as well, and the sound isn't as good. Basically I'm asking for an explanation on the differences between the two Y-Pipes. My only other question is how happy are you with the system? I'm looking for a good sound, nothing crazily loud, and a bit more kick then my current stock everything besides a cheap muffler and 4' tips.
Old 12-27-2005, 07:27 PM

Re: Who's Running Pacesetter LT's and Hooker Catback?

I used to have that setup....fairly quiet until you get on it, and the sound is awesome. However, a shop screwed it up completely and it had tons of leaks (due to the shop), so I welded up my own dual system. Go for it, you'll love it. And yes, ORY = no cats.
Old 12-27-2005, 07:54 PM

That was my first mod to my car. It increased the power in the mid and top end of the power band. Power in the lower rpms remained the same. Sound is top notch(Classic V8 Muscle). If your into car stereo now you'll have to get a bigger amp to hear it. Just be ready for the smell if you remove the cats. I had a loss in gas mileage but not sure why.