LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Wiring guru questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2009, 05:11 PM

Wiring guru questions

Ok so I am making sure I have everything I need to wire up my led warning lights for my EWP.

I am not good with wires, so I will tell you that up front.

In the attached photo, you install 2 resistors and 1 diode for the warning light side of the circut.

I noticed that the diode is on the hot side(Blue wire) of the pump. What is the purpose of this? I understand a diode allows flow of electricity one way, but why is this necessary? My wild guess is to keep the two positive power sources from mixing.

Ok about the resistors. I am assuming the resistors get wired in to the + side of the power, that is going to the led lights. Right?

On the (Black)ground side of the pump, how does the LED get power other than ground? Is that part missing from the diagram?

Name:  mezinst2.jpg
Views: 14
Size:  48.7 KB
Old 01-31-2009, 10:57 PM

[QUOTE=Dave1980;5812767]I noticed that the diode is on the hot side(Blue wire) of the pump. What is the purpose of this? I understand a diode allows flow of electricity one way, but why is this necessary? My wild guess is to keep the two positive power sources from mixing.

The 1N4148 diode prevents current from flowing from the LED and out through the pump. Kind of like an electronic check valve. It does this by putting 12V at the output (cathode) of the LED. 12V at the input (anode), 12V at the cathode and the LED cant turn on. If a relay or wiring fails, the 12V on the cathode goes away and current flows through the LED and 1k resistor.

Ok about the resistors. I am assuming the resistors get wired in to the + side of the power, that is going to the led lights. Right?