LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Would ethanol make my car miss?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2003, 08:26 AM

Would ethanol make my car miss?

Got gas the other day, car was on E and stopped at a Sunoco that I'd never been to before. I always run Sunoco 94, but this place said theirs contained ethanol , which I've never used before. I didn't want to fill up on it so I only got $5 worth (like 3 gallons) to get home and havn't driven it again till today. Anyway, my car was running great up to then, just ran the time below the other week, no misses or anything. Today I go to get on it and now it's missing several times in the higher rpms I've got pcmforless hotcam tuning and he told me I need to always run 93 or better. It was cruising ok on the highway and under normal driving but with any hard acceleration it's starts missing. Could the ethanol be making it run this bad?
Old 08-14-2003, 08:29 AM

More than likely you plugged up your fuel filter and injectors if you ran your tank to empty. All the crap is in the bottom of the tank.

I run 92/94 octane ethanol blend regularly with no problems.
Old 08-14-2003, 08:37 AM

Is it possible my PCM is just trying to adjust to the different type of gas and retarding the timing? I don't know much about ethanol but as I said I've never used it before, maybe your car is used to it. I've run the car this low before without any problems like this.
Old 08-14-2003, 10:26 AM

Originally posted by Gripenfelter
More than likely you plugged up your fuel filter and injectors if you ran your tank to empty. All the crap is in the bottom of the tank.

I run 92/94 octane ethanol blend regularly with no problems.
I never understood why people say that, logically it doesn't make any sense. Your fuel pump is in the bottom of the tank, so if you ran it low all that could happen is the fuel pump gets hot because the fuel doesn't cool it.