Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

1st handling upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2005, 12:05 PM

1st handling upgrade

hey im new to handling upgrades but what do you think would be the best first upgrade that i can notice a difference in handling?
thanks
Old 02-01-2005, 12:07 PM

Re: 1st handling upgrade

I would say lower the car, put some sportlines on therem or go from 16" to 17 or 18" rims, you will notice a difference there. And you gotta a pm.
Old 02-01-2005, 07:24 PM

wider wheels and softer rubber, that will make the biggest difference, followed by shocks and springs, I'd go with a linear spring personally and strano revalves seems to be the order everyone can agree on
Old 02-01-2005, 08:10 PM

where can i get a "linear spring and strano revalves "
Old 02-01-2005, 08:16 PM

After doing a few suspension upgrades, the biggest change was with the 35mm front sway bar. Awesome mod. HUGE improvement.

Next is better shocks. I got the Bilstein HD's.

Third is better rims/tires. Looks alone makes this a great mod, and the added rubber did make a substantial difference, but if I was purely looking for better handling, the sway bar would come 1st, then the shocks, then the tires/rims. Tires and rims are expensive.

Dan
Old 02-01-2005, 08:26 PM

do you have any link for where to buy the front and rear sway bars you got?
thanks
Old 02-01-2005, 08:33 PM

Originally Posted by DiabloGT
Do you have any link for where to buy the front and rear sway bars you got?
thanks
Sure do. www.stranoparts.com Give them a call, really. Ask for Sam, he's the owner. Great guy to talk to and will help you out with ANY questions you have. He's on this board(01 FS Z28), and is the ESP SCCA national champion.

My front bar is the solid suspension techniques 35mm bar. The rear is stock, which works out to be a great balance.

Dan
Old 02-01-2005, 08:51 PM

would it help any if i got the rear one too?