Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

Adjustable Panhard bar for lowered car

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2008, 12:41 PM

Adjustable Panhard bar for lowered car

Anyone see anything wrong with this product?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/82-02...ayphotohosting

I know this has been beaten to death, I can tell by searching, but I wanted to hear what type / brand / material panhard bars everyone is running on their cars.

I searched for the last hour or so...
I just don't want to make a purchase I'm going to regret.
I'm pretty sure i don't want a UMI bar, but hell, I'm a newb when it comes to suspension parts like this... all opinions are much appreciated.

Thank you
Old 04-03-2008, 10:35 PM

What's wrong with UMI products? I've never heard anything real bad that stands out, and in fact, hear lots of positive about their products over on FRRAX (F-Body Road Race & Auto-X forum).

Also, a couple of the local shops around my area seem to run their suspension components in pretty built-up drag cars, and speak highly of the strength and quality of their parts .

For a lowered car you obviously require the ability to adjust the PHB to get your diff centered. A single adjustable is fine, with one poly end, and the other an adjustable rod end. Double rod ended is "technically" better in a way, but is really just over-kill . (I apologize, I'm at work right now and can't view the eBay ad, so I don't know what bar you're looking at specifically).

The PHB is probably one of the "simpler" items in the suspension, so I don't think you can really go wrong with any brand.

Oh, and chromemoly vs. mild steel is purely for weight savings if you're concerned over that (and don't mind spending more money).

EDIT:
Just found this pic in another recent thread Re: adj. PHB: