Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

bad brake feel ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2006, 09:24 PM

bad brake feel ?

i dont like the feel of my brakes they are mushy and will not lock up or activate the abs anymore. I have all new rotors, pads, steel lines, and have bleed them i am guessing i have a bad master or bad booster both are original 12years old and 160k. I dont have any leaks. what is the life of these parts? should i repace them together? thank you.
Old 02-20-2006, 07:40 AM

Re: bad brake feel ?

I'm not an expert on brakes but my system has the same feel... for me it started after I went to the HOT cam so I was thinking maybe I'm lacking vacuum. The pedal will hold just fine, but it's not putting out the braking effort is should be. Master cylinder problems usually result in a pedal that won't hold pressure (if you hold it down it will slowly travel all the way to the floor). This is more of a "won't apply the same braking force". No doubt it doesn't help that the brakes for LT1 f-body are total crap. I'm doing the C5 upgrade before the car goes back on the road this year.
Old 02-21-2006, 12:19 PM

Re: bad brake feel ?