Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

Eibach Install

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2006, 10:34 AM

Eibach Install

Ok, I am going to attempt the spring/shock install myself. I have rented the strut compressor from autozone, and have all the sockes, electric impact wrench, and jack. I can get the wheels about 5 inches off the ground.

I am very competent when it comes to mechanical stuff. But i have never done springs before. Can anyone give me some advise? pointers? any help at all. any extra tools i will need?

tool list:

Jack
jack stands
6 pack of miller lt.
hammers
impact wrench with sockets
torque wrench
another 6 pack of miller
penetrating oil
spring compressor
12 pack miller
bandaids
neosporen
bottle of vodka

does this about cover it for tools needed? Can i find the step by step in my hayes book?
Old 07-03-2006, 12:15 PM

Re: Eibach Install

Here's a good write-up: http://www.houston-f-body.org/tech/shocks/index.htm
Old 07-03-2006, 02:02 PM
nfa

You will also need some liquid paper or something else to mark the orientation of the shock/spring to the upper strut mount before disassembly.
Old 07-03-2006, 07:15 PM

Originally Posted by OBE1 95Z28
That article would have been nice to have last week,lol. I just did front and rear on my 98 Z and it really isnt all that bad to do. I didnt have the best jack so the biggest problem was getting the car high enough. I also did the lower right control arm and outer tierod ends and wow does it ever need an alignment now,lol. I dont even want to drive it its so bad. I used the edelbrock adjustable coilovers with eibach springs. I know they arnt the best but i couldnt afford any of the other adjustables that i found. Good luck and be carefull with the springs and compressors.
Old 07-03-2006, 11:52 PM