Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

lots of roll cage questions...

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2005, 09:30 PM

lots of roll cage questions...

im new to LT1's and im still really young, but im hoping by this time next year i will be where i want with my car. im hoping for high to mid 11's HOPEFULLY.lol. i plan on going the nitrous route and im still figuring out all that stuff. now, if im not mistaken, you need a cage for 11.99s and faster correct? im planning on doing a 6 or 8 point cage, but nothing overhead or throught the dash, except the rear hoop. im just going with a basic kit that i can weld in and be done. i heard the jegs kits arent the best and there is a bit of cutting that might need to be done. i have heard good things about S&W cages, like this...http://www.swracecars.com/roll_bars.asp

that is what i would want if i got an 8 point. i just want the rear hoop, then to the trunk and then along the doors, but if it has those 2 extra angled bars to make it an 8 point thats fine. will i be fine with a 6 or 8 point running 11's or what is the deal with that?

basically my main questions are,
-how many points do i need to be legal for 11's
-whats a good kit you guys recomend that would be pretty cheap and basically weld directly in
-and lastly how do the S&W (or any other cage someone reccomends for that matter) mount for the back bars that go to the rear hatch area? i am guessing they just go over the seat and mount flat on the flat part, or do they go through the plastic peices where the seatbelts go to?

TIA guys i hope i can get everything i need to know cause like everyone i hate wasting money and crap that wont work.
Old 05-06-2005, 01:05 PM

Re: lots of roll cage questions...

I can't answer too many of your questions. But another option is Wolfe Racecraft. Thunder Racing sells them and probably some other vendors.
From what i've heard, their cages are good.
Old 05-06-2005, 01:34 PM