Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

Need help with brakes for tire and wheel size.

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2006, 07:27 AM

Need help with brakes for tire and wheel size.

So as i've said in my other recent posts, i am suping my car up. So i am gong to need some good brakes. But I have a few questions. I am new to the brake and tire thing as far as upgrades for what i am planning to do. I mean its going to be a street car that goes to inspection every 2 years. So i want it street friendly and legal. Currently, I have 18X8.5 in chrome wheels all the way around and BF G force Drag Radials in the rear and kdws in the front. Now when i fix my car up with lots of hp to be driving in the street, at which point do i need to slicks or drag radials or what ever tire i need to use? Also, With my current setup, i am assuming i should invest in 15 in light weight wheels for better performance right? I mean, having 600+ hp while driving on the street, i am guessing its not safe to use the drag radials and kdws that i currently have for that right?
Old 06-12-2006, 08:03 AM

Re: Need help with brakes for tire and wheel size.

your post is a bit confusing...

drag radials on a high hp car are fine, but running an 18" rim will give you a very small sidewall which will decrease your traction at launch. although it will probbaby make the car corner nice.

i would say that you'd probably want to get a wider tire, not sure what you're running now. but a 275 would be a good choice. and maybe look into a little better tire than the KDWS, something like the KDW has more grip but is not snow rated (if that matters).

with 600hp you'll prbably want slicks if you want to get really good traction at the strip. but make sure you have the driveline to back it up. good power with the crappy stock 10bolt rear and sticky tires will become a pile of parts very quickly at the track.