Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

suspension install

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 01:02 PM

suspension install

i have control arms, sway bars, panhard bar, shocks and springs, strut tower brace, sub frame connectors,

the car is a 94 firebird formula, i was wonder how much of this i could install myself, im not that experienced. i want to try and save some money on the install, i will have the sub frame weld and the shocks and springs put in. let me know all comments welcomed,
thanks Ed
Old 04-08-2008, 01:36 PM

The rear lower control arms, sway bars,panhard rod, and rear shocks are pretty easy to do. Its hard to say though not knowing what your mechanical level is and what you feel comfortable doing. If you bought those parts new, you should have instructions for them. Read through everything and get a feel for the removal of the old parts and install of the new and go from there. If you feel the stuff is over your head, then it might not be a bad idea to pay someone to do it or maybe get a friend to help you.
Old 04-09-2008, 08:18 AM

Originally Posted by 2000GTP
The rear lower control arms, sway bars,panhard rod, and rear shocks are pretty easy to do. Its hard to say though not knowing what your mechanical level is and what you feel comfortable doing. If you bought those parts new, you should have instructions for them. Read through everything and get a feel for the removal of the old parts and install of the new and go from there. If you feel the stuff is over your head, then it might not be a bad idea to pay someone to do it or maybe get a friend to help you.
the lcas, sway bars, and panhard bar are just 2 bolts apeice correct??? i could just have the sub frames welded in and the shocks done.
let me know thanks
Old 04-09-2008, 11:51 AM
Administrator