Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

Wheel/fender gap

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2011, 10:26 AM

Wheel/fender gap

I am looking into getting new rims for my 97 Z28. I would like to stick with 16's but hate seeing the wheel gap. what do i need to do to lower it about an inch? keep in mind i am not a mechanical person but can figure it out if im told what i need to do. Ive read that when lowering you can get some sway in the rear from the body not lining up. would an inch cause that problem also? I dont want to invest a huge amount of money into the lowering right now (have to get rims, new paint job where a tow truck backed into it) but would like to get a closer gap without stepping up to 17's.
Old 01-15-2011, 04:11 PM
Administrator

Re: Wheel/fender gap

Going from 16" to 17" wheels, or any other size wheels will not change the "gap". The gap is determinied by the outside diameter of the tires, and when you go to a larger wheel size, you hold the outside diameter of the tire the same, by using a lower aspect ratio tire.

Example:

Stock, with Z-rated tire option: 245/50-16 = 25.7" tire diameter

Stock, SS or WS6 coupes: 275/40-17 = 25.7" tire diameter.

You lower the car to close the gap. You lower it one of two ways:

-get "lowering" springs, with matching shocks

-adjustable coil/over shocks

When you lower the car an inch, the radius of the panhard rod causes the body to move about 1/10th inch to the passenger side, relative to the rear axle. That can be corrected with an adjustable panhard rod. The side-to-side motion of the rear of the car will change when the body end of the panhard rod is lowered, and an adjustable panhard rod would not correct that. To most people its not a problem, but for absolute handling, and elimination of the problems it causes, you need to look at a Watts linkage.

Check this site for suspension parts for the 4th Gen F-Body:

http://www.stranoparts.com/